The State Agriculture Department is the lead agency administering the pesticide certification program required by FIFRA.
Commercial applicator certification is valid for two years. Several specific categories of commercial certification are available. Once certified, commercial applicators must obtain a biennial license. More than 6,000 commercial applicators are currently licensed.
- Applicator License $25.00
- Restricted-Use Pesticide Dealer License $50.00
- Bulk Pesticide Storage Facility Permit $0
- Operational Area Containment Registration $0
Commercial licenses must be renewed by March 1 or a $50.00 late fee will be assessed. Government employees who apply pesticides must obtain an applicator license; however, the $25.00 fee is not required.
- How Do I Apply for Commercial Pesticide Applicator Reciprocity in SD?
- Commercial Pesticide Applicator and Dealer License Application Form
- Explanation of Commercial Pesticide Certification Classifications
- Meetings Approved For SD Commercial Applicator Recertification Credit
- South Dakota Commercial Pesticide Applicator Search
- Pesticide Commercial Applicator/Dealer Application for License and Registration for Recertification Classes
- Distributing Pesticides in South Dakota: Responsibilities of Licensed Pesticide Dealers
- Restricted Use Pesticide Permission Notice – To be completed and signed by the certified applicator each time someone other than the certified applicator will be picking up the RUP.
- Sample of Record of Restricted Use Pesticide (RUP) Sales Form:
Private applicator certification is required before an agricultural producer can purchase or use a restricted-use pesticide. A producer who has the potential of producing more than $1,000 of an agricultural commodity must be certified to use any pesticide. Private applicator certification is obtained by attending a certification meeting, taking an on-line test or completing a home study course provided by Exension Service offices.
There is no fee for a private applicator certification card, which is valid for five years. Over 16,000 private applicators currently hold valid certification.
- South Dakota Private Pesticide Applicator Search
- Certified Private Applicator Test on the Web ”Private Applicator Web Training” PWT
- Private Aerial Pesticide Applicator Application
Laws and Regulations
South Dakota Codified Law
- SDCL 38-20A Pesticides
- SDCL 38-21 Agricultural Pesticide Application
- SDCL 38-21-17 Applicator License Required
South Dakota Administrative Rule
- ARSD 12:56 Pesticides
- ARSD 12:56:04 Commercial Applicators
- ARSD 12:56:05 Certification of Applicators
- ARSD 12:56:10 Licensed Pesticide Dealers
- ARSD 12:56:12 Private Applicator Certification
- 7 CFR Part 110 USDA, AMS Recordkeeping On Restricted Use Pesticides By Certified Applicators, both private and commercial
- 40 CFR Part 150-189 EPA Pesticide Programs
Receive Agronomy Services email updates. Join our mailing list.