
Commercial Applicator Certification  
Commercial applicator certification is valid for two 
years. Applicators must take a test to become initially 
certified, but can recertify by attending a class. Once 
certified, commercial applicators must obtain a license, 
which is also valid for two years. More than 6,000 
commercial applicators are currently licensed. 
 
LICENSE AND CERTIFICATION FEES  
 
Private applicator certification card $0  
Commercial applicator license  $25  
Comm. Applicator recertification  $30/$40  
RUP dealer license   $50  
Applicator and dealer license late fee $50  
Bulk pesticide storage facilities permit $0  
Operational area registration  $0  
 
Applicator and dealer license must be renewed 
by March 1 or a $50 late fee will be assessed.  
 
Government employees who apply pesticides must 
obtain an applicators license, but are exempt from 
the $25 license fee.  
 
DEFINITIONS 
 
Pesticide – A term which includes herbicides, 
insecticides, fungicides and rodenticides.  
 
Restricted Use Pesticide – A pesticide whose use 
has been restricted for various reasons, such as 
environmental safety or health concerns.  
 
Private applicator – A person who is certified to 
apply any pesticide on land the person or the 
person’s employer owns, operates or rents for 
production of agricultural commodities amounting 
to greater than $1000 or uses an RUP in production 
of agricultural commodities.  
 
Commercial applicator – Any certified applicator 
that uses any pesticide on any property other than 
as a private applicator.  
 
Reciprocity – Commercial applicators certified in 
adjoining states but doing business in South Dakota 

must acquire a South Dakota license, but can 
receive credit for training they received in their 
home state. They must have tested in a state 
that adjoins the South Dakota border. 
 
There is no reciprocity for private applicators 
certified in other states but applying pesticides in 
South Dakota. Private applicators applying 
pesticides in South Dakota must acquire a South 
Dakota private applicator license. 
 
PROJECT AREAS  
 
Groundwater Protection Program – The SDDA 
and EPA have a joint environmental goal of 
managing the use of pesticides to protect South 
Dakota’s groundwater resources.  
 
Worker Protection Program – The SDDA and 
EPA carry out a worker protection program that 
ensures worker safety when dealing with 
pesticides. The program informs and protects 
users and workers exposed to pesticides.  
 
Endangered Species Protection Program– 
Focuses on protecting species listed as endangered 
or threatened, while minimizing to the extent 
possible, impacts on pesticide users.  
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GOAL   
 
To assure the safe and effective storage, handling, 
distribution, use and disposal of pesticide products.  
 
The South Dakota Department of Agriculture 
(SDDA), by agreement with the US Environmental 
Protection Agency (EPA) is responsible for enforcing 
the Federal Insecticide, Fungicide and Rodenticide 
Act (FIFRA). FIFRA relates directly to the 
manufacture, distribution, sale, use, and disposal of 
pesticide products.  
 
The SDDA is also responsible for enforcing the state 
pesticide law, SDCL 38-20A, the agricultural 
pesticide application law, SDCL 38-21, and pesticide 
administrative rules ARSD 12:56.  
 
PRODUCT REGISTRATION  
 
State law requires that all pesticide products 
distributed for use in South Dakota be registered 
with the SDDA. Product labels are reviewed for 
compliance with state and federal labeling 
requirements. Products with risks unique to South 
Dakota may be further evaluated.  
 
The biennial cost for registering a pesticide is $240 
per product. Over 10,000 pesticide products are 
currently registered for use in the state for both 
agricultural and non-agricultural uses. 
Approximately 80% of the products registered are 
non-agricultural. 
 
PESTICIDE STORAGE, HANDLING AND 
DISPOSAL REQUIREMENTS  
 

• Bulk pesticides must be stored within 
secondary containment, constructed in 
accordance with state law, to prevent 
contamination of the environment from spills.  

 
• When pesticide handling occurs near water 

sources, or if certain thresholds are exceeded, 
containment is necessary.  

 

• Chemical connections to potable water supplies 
must have backflow prevention. 

 
• Applicators must have a written pesticide 

handling and discharge response plan.  
 

• Empty containers must be triple or pressure 
rinsed. Properly rinsed containers may be 
offered for recycling.  

 
• The SDDA holds container recycling collection 

points throughout the summer and also collects 
unusable pesticides each fall.  

 
• Applicators and bulk facilities are required to 

report significant spills to the SDDA or 
Emergency Management.  

 
To report a pesticide or fertilizer spill contact:  
Department of Public Safety, Office of Emergency 
Management (24 hours) (605) 773-3231 
 
RECORDKEEPING REQUIREMENTS  
 
Commercial applicators must keep records of 
applications for a three year period of time. Records 
must be completed by the end of each day that 
applications were made. Records shall be made 
available to the SDDA upon request.  
 
Licensed pesticide dealers must keep records of sales 
of restricted use pesticides for three years. Records 
shall be made available to the SDDA upon request. 
 
The federal pesticide recordkeeping regulations 
require that private pesticide applicators keep records 
of federal restricted use pesticide applications. The 
information must be recorded within 14 days 
following the pesticide application. Records must be 
kept for two years from the date of the pesticide 
application. 
 
ENFORCEMENT  
 
SDDA representatives inspect pesticide manufacturers, 
distributors, dealers and applicators to ensure 
compliance with state and federal laws.  
 

Pesticide damage complaints filed with the SDDA are 
investigated for possible violations. More than 125 
pesticide damage complaints and spills are 
investigated annually.  
 
Violations of laws and rules may result in denial, 
revocation or suspension of a person’s pesticide 
license or certification; prosecution as a Class 2 
Misdemeanor; or civil penalties of up to $5,000. 
 
SDDA does not have the authority to seek 
compensation on the behalf of any complainant. The 
complainant may pursue damage compensation/ 
reimbursement through the court system. If you 
have questions about your legal rights, you should 
contact an attorney.  
 
To file a pesticide damage complaint, call (605) 
773-4432 or file online at the Regulatory 
Compliance & Enforcement page: 
sdda.sd.gov/Ag_Services/ 
 
CERTIFICATION/LICENSING  
 
The SDDA is the lead agency administering the 
pesticide certification program required by FIFRA. 
SD Cooperative Extension Service (CES) provides 
training and administers certification examinations 
at local extension offices.  
 
Private Applicator Certification  
Private Applicator Certification is required before an 
agricultural producer can purchase or use a 
restricted use pesticide (RUP). A producer who has 
the potential of producing more than $1,000 of an 
agricultural commodity must be certified to use any 
pesticide. Private applicator certification is obtained 
by attending a certification meeting, completing a 
test provided by local county extension educators or 
passing an exam available on the internet at: 
apps.sd.gov/doa/pwt/  
 
There is no fee for a private applicator certification 
card, which is valid for five years. Approximately 
16,000 private applicators currently hold valid 
certification. 
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