TO REPORT A PESTICIDE SPILL:
Department of Public Safety, Office of Emergency Management
Call 24 hours a day: 605.773.3231
When pesticides are spilled or released, there is a potential that surface water, groundwater, human health or natural resources may be threatened. Here's what you should know if a spill occurs.
When to Report a Spill
Pesticide discharges in excess of 25 pounds active ingredients that occur at operational areas outside of operational area containment must be reported to the South Dakota Department of Agriculture (SDDA). The operator or manager of a bulk pesticide storage facility shall notify the SDDA or the Division of Emergency Management within 3 hours after a spill of more than 25 gallons of liquid or 500 pounds of dry pesticides outside the secondary containment area. The commercial carrier shall notify the SDDA or Division of Emergency Management within 12 hours after the spill of more than 5 gallons of liquid or 50 pounds of dry pesticide which occurs during transportation. The commercial carrier shall provide written notice of a spill to the SDDA within 72 hours after the spill. A release or spill of a regulated substance (includes petroleum and petroleum products) must be reported to South Dakota Department of Environment and Natural Resouces immediately if the discharge meets any of the following conditions: threatens or is in a position to threaten the waters of the state (surface or ground water), causes an immediate danger to human health or safety, exceeds 25 gallons, exceeds the ground/surface water quality standards of ARSD 74:54:01, or may be harmful or threaten wildlife or aquatic life.
Do not dispose/use spilled or contaminated material until the South Dakota Department of Agriculture grants approval. Use the Land Application Form and submit to the SDDA prior to using or disposing of contaminated materials.
To read the laws and regulations about pesticide spills, visit this page.