Brand Board | South Dakota Department of Agriculture

Brand Board

Authorization: Chapter 40-18 of the South Dakota Codified Laws (SDCL 40-18)

Activities: Issue brands, inspect cattle being transferred to insure proper brand and generally enforce livestock ownership statutes.

Organization: Attached to the Department of Agriculture for reporting purposes only.

Composition: Five members appointed by the Governor. Statewide nonprofit agricultural organizations, incorporated under state law, may submit nominations to the Governor, but not bound to choose from them.

At least three of the five members of the board shall be persons who derive the major portion of their income from the livestock business and who are owners of brands duly recorded with the board. At least three of the five members of the board shall reside in the livestock ownership inspection areas. No appointed member may act as a member of the board while holding an elective or appointive state or federal office. No more than three of the members shall be of any one political party.

Term of Appointment: Three years expiring on the first Monday in January.


Livestock Inspection Area
Wanda Blair
19599 Bear Butte Road
Vale, SD 57788

Bart Blum
23982 340th Avenue
Reliance, SD 57569
P: 605.734.6175

Lyla Hutchison
PO Box 168
Wounded Knee, SD 57794
P: 605.867.1857

Scott Vance
PO Box 36
Faith SD 57626
P: 605.739.55015 (h)

Myron Williams
PO Box 388
Wall SD 57790
605.279.2654 (h)