Oilseeds Council | South Dakota Department of Agriculture

Oilseeds Council

Authorization: Chapter 38-27 of the South Dakota Codified Laws (SDCL 38-27)

Activities: Better methods of production, processing and marketing of sunflowers, safflowers, canola and flax be developed and that advertising and promoting of sunflowers, safflowers, canola and flax grown in South Dakota be fostered, encouraged, developed and improved so the sunflower, safflower, canola and flax industries within the state, the people directly or indirectly employed by these industries and the people of South Dakota should be benefited thereby.

Organization: Administered under the direction and supervision of the College of Agriculture and Biological Sciences at South Dakota State University and the dean of the college, but shall retain the quasi-judicial, quasi-legislative, advisory, other nonadministrative and special budgetary functions.

Composition: Eight members who are appointed by the Secretary of Agriculture:

  1. Five shall be participaing growers of sunflowers;
  2. One shall be a participating grower of safflowers;
  3. One shall be a participating grower of canola; and
  4. One shall be a participating grower of flax.

One member shall reside west of the MIssouri River. The Secretary of Agriculture is an ex-officio, nonvoting member.

Term of Appointment: Four years.


Ron Seidel
18610 SD HWY 20
Meadow, SD 57644-7402

Lance Hourigan
PO Box 277
Lemmon, SD 57638

Lauren Russell
13663 US HWY 83
Selby, SD 57472-6300

Shannon DePoy
PO Box 12
Lantry, SD 57636

Wayne Schlagel
41419 177th St
Raymond, SD 57258

Rick Vallery
PO Box 667
Pierre, SD 57501-0667
P:605.222 .8045

Tom Young
PO Box 424
Onida, SD 57564
P: 605.258.2485

SD Department of Agriculture
Trudy Wastweet
SD Department of Agriculture
523 E. Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501-3182
P: 605.773.3796